OKC Criminal Defense & DUI Attorneys
OKC Criminal Defense & DUI Attorneys

Yukon Domestic Violence Lawyer

We Represent Oklahoma Residents Accused of Domestic Assault and Battery

Domestic violence--known as "domestic abuse" under Oklahoma law--refers to any criminal assault or battery committed against an intimate partner, family member, or household member. It also includes criminal prosecutions of someone accused of violating a previously issued protective order. If you are accused of either offense you could be facing jail time, fines, and other potentially serious consequences. The experienced Yukon domestic violence attorneys at Fassio Law can provide you with experienced, knowledgeable, and creative representation and assist you in seeking the best possible resolution for your case.

Who Can Be a Victim of Domestic Violence in Yukon, Oklahoma?

Domestic abuse is broadly defined in Oklahoma to include "any act of physical harm" (battery) or any "threat of imminent physical harm" (assault) committed against of the following family or household members:

  • a current or former intimate (dating) partner;
  • children, grandchildren, stepchildren, adopted children, and foster children;
  • parents, grandparents, stepparents, adoptive parents, and foster parents; and
  • any other person related by blood, marriage, and/or living in the same household;
  • any other person who formerly lived in the same household.

What Are the Penalties for a Domestic Violence Conviction in Yukon, Oklahoma?

The penalties for domestic abuse in Oklahoma escalate based on the number of prior convictions:

  • a first conviction carries a maximum sentence of up to 1 year in prison and a fine of up to $5,000;
  • a second or subsequent conviction carries a maximum sentence of up to 4 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000;
  • a person accused of a third or subsequent domestic abuse incident within a 12-month period can be charged with a “prior pattern of physical abuse," which carries a sentence of up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
  • penalties are higher if you are charged with Domestic Violence by Strangulation, or Domestic Violence with a Dangerous or Deadly Weapon.

Domestic Violence and Protective Orders

Oklahoma law enables victims of domestic violence to seek a protective (restraining) order from the court. Judges can even issue short-term emergency protective orders without a formal hearing. If the subject of the protective order violates its terms--i.e., makes prohibited contact with the person who sought the order--the subject can be charged with a misdemeanor for a first offense. If convicted, this carries a maximum sentence of 1 year in jail and a $1,000 fine.

What Should You Do When Facing a Domestic Violence Charge in Yukon, Oklahoma?

Many people accused of domestic abuse feel shocked, betrayed, and angry. These are all understandable emotions. But it is important to remain calm and remember you have certain rights under the law. This includes the right to seek representation from a qualified Yukon criminal defense attorney. There are several possible defenses that our domestic abuse attorneys can explore on your behalf to make sure you get the best outcome possible for your case.

The worst thing you can do in the situation is to directly confront your accuser. For one thing, this would violate any standing protective order against you. And it will do nothing to convince the prosecution to dismiss the charges against you or negotiate a more favorable plea agreement. Instead, your best move is to work with an experienced Yukon domestic violence attorney who can walk you through the process of resolving your case, ideally without the need for a public trial.

So if you need legal assistance, contact Fassio Law today at (405) 593-8444 to schedule a free case assessment with a member of our staff.

Call Now